If you could only have one book - what would it be?

buddhagoddess

As a beginner, I am borrowing some books from my friend. But I would like to have a good book of my own. I have several decks, each coming with their own book (not LWB). If you could recommend just one book that would cover all the basic meanings, spreads, history, etc... what would it be?

To put it another way, if there was a fire in your tarot library and you could only run out of the house with one book, what would you grab?

If it helps at all, I have the Sacred Circle, Revelations, Haindl, TdM, Roots of Asia, Quest, and Cat People Tarots.

Strange2

buddhagoddess said:
if there was a fire in your tarot library and you could only run out of the house with one book, what would you grab?

Given that scenario, I would grab Tarot Symbolism, by Robert O'Neill. Not only is this a rare book (although just recently reprinted), but this was the book that really got me seriously into the study of Tarot.

Aleister Crowley's Book of Thoth is another essential Tarot book for me, that continues to teach and inspire me. But the Book of Thoth is readily available, and is recommended (advanced) reading for any Tarot enthusiast.

lark

I'm a big believer in having the book that goes with your favorite deck...if there is a book that is.
If I grabbed my Robin Wood Deck in the fire I'd grab my Robin Wood book.

I counted all of my Tarot Books just for you buddhagoddess and I have 106...
And I think as just plain study books go I would take The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals by Mary Greer.
I used that one a lot!
And it not only has excellent reversed meanings, but upright too.
So it's a good all around study book for tarot..... in my opinion any how.

coyoteblack

tarot for a new generation or forrrest of souls depending on how i felt maybe power tarot