Books on Voodoo: Recommendations???

Little Baron

I am studying the New Orleans Voodoo Deck.

And to make it a little easier, I would like to get a few books on Voodoo, which may go over some of the symbols and characters in the deck. I already checked - there is no dummies book for this.

Alissa already recommended a good book about Marie Laveau, which I will be looking for. But I wanted some more general ones.

I am aware that some are to be steared clear of. I already have one by Tallant, which I stopped reading when Alissa told me it was 'full of bull'. On further flipping about the web, she is not the only one to have this opinion.

But being new to all of this, is there some really good overviews out there that are obtainable and will go through things in a simple but thorough way? Is there some to avoid?

LB

Scion

Hey LB,

Randomly I did a chunk of my degree in African-based religions of the Caribbean. My tastes sometimes run to the academic in rsesearch, but these are all pretty juicy:

I can't recommend Flash of the Spirit by Robert Farris Thompson highly enough for a terrific sense behind the visual iconography and the matrix of African beliefs that form the basis of the ne world traditions.
Mama Lola by Karen Black is by one of my favorite professors at Columbia and manages to be anecdotal and scholarly at the same time. Really readable and meaty.
And for straight anthrolopology (that seems slightly dated now because so many people refer to her) Maya Deren's Divine Horsemen which is one of the main study texts on the Vodoun tradition.

None of these are "Quick overviews" in the Llewellyn sense, but I'd especially recommend the 1st two to really get a sense of the traditions. Let me see what else I have on my shelves at home later on.

Scion

Little Baron

Thanks Scion. Will look out for these.

LB

Ross G Caldwell

Here's my "library" on the subject: