Hippie Pagan Tarot idea...

ladyealatheshy

Okay, maybe the idea of theme decks is becoming a bit cheese considering there are so many of them and for everything under the sun. However, one of the decks I have plans for, I hope to take beyond the cheese and make it beautiful and spiritual. Though the name is not formal yet, tentatively it is called The Hippie Pagan Tarot. The medium, colored pencil drawings. Im a fairly proficient artist and would like to design the deck and the book myself. I would like feedback on the general idea. It would be colorful for sure, stick closely to the Rider-Waite-Smith model, but within the "theme". Not sure about the suits, at the very least, it will be Air, Fire, Water, Earth. Some of the names of the Majors may change. The Free Spirit from The Fool perhaps. I had nixed the idea early on to use drawings of famous figures from the 60's and 70's, I want it to have a more universal feel that new hippies can relate to as well, so they would probably be just hippie looking people. I did want to represent different aspects of the hippie culture such as conservation, vegetarianism (for those who choose that), activism, art, music, sexuality, spirituality, communal living. So many questions to answer...any feedback welcome,even if you think its a dumb idea. --Eala the Shy

brenmck

New Faces on The Archetypes

How about suits of Earth, Wind (in honor of Bob Dylan), Fire, and Water?
Where will you put the face of Jimi Hendrix? - The Fool (Free Spirit) or the Magician? Don't forget Kerouac and Ginsberg - they're the ancestors.
LBJ belongs in there somewhere (from the U.S. POV) - he generated more hippies than Timothy Leary.
And the Doors, Lennon, Ravi, and Westmoreland.
It's a very rich history, when you start digging.

~B~

Cerulean

Will you use Peter Max or rainbow palette backgrounds?

Tie dye?