Marselles System Card Decks, I Question?

Tomsde

I've recently ordered the Ancient Italian Tarot and Anchient Tarot of Lombardy. In a similar vein I own the 1JJ Swiss and The Prediction Tarot decks. Many of these decks have "non reversable" backs and the design of the pips wouild lead me to believe in many cases it would be difficult to be able to tell if a card was right side up or reversed as the pattern is the same no matter which way you place the card. Are these decks typically read without reversals? I have a book coming that give reversed meaning for the majors at least; I don't know about the minors since I don't have it yet; but it is a non Rider Waite Smith system from the blurbs I read. Can anyone shed light on how they would typically read a layout and place the cards down on the table?

I am a student of RWS system, therefore I'm accustomed to reversed cards and reversed meanings; but at first glance this seems a bit different.

Gavriela

Check the Marseille forum, especially a couple of threads where Mel explains a lot of his system - I quite like it, and it makes sense, but you're correct - it is NOT Golden Dawn material, and reversals don't come into it.

http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=101507&page=1&pp=10

and this is a good one:

http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=101981

Enrique's written a lot about his art and eye rhyme methods, too, which you can find somewhere in the exchange thread - there are a series of threads.

http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=99638&page=1&pp=10

There are six other threads, all with similar titles, so it shouldn't be that hard to search the rest of them. I think you'll enjoy it - Marseille is a whole different trip, and I find it far less cluttered than GD - though I quite enjoy the GD's kabbalistic magical mystery tour, too.

Tomsde

Thanks for your advice, I will check them out his evening when I have more time.

Teheuti

Tomsde said: