marielise

Bonjour a tous!
I saw my first deck 30 years ago, when I was a wee bairn. Young Italian men were playing with an old tarot de Marseilles deck. They were using it like a conventional deck and gambling small amounts of money. It wasn't till years later I found out their meanings and use.
As an artist, I have to date been working with the philsophies and processes of Alchemy. Tarot represents for me a kind of extension of Alchemy; In the sense that both disciplines require finding the 'gold' within. It is an inward journey towards analysing and understanding the SELF.
I'm currently working on a deck (10x 15cm linocuts) and it's a very slow process... But also a deeply therapeutic process.
I have attached the pope, others available to view, just have to scan in prints...Love to have feedback

Attachments

• the-pope-3print.jpg
    the-pope-3print.jpg
    65.2 KB · Views: 107

suedeheadsmiths

Welcome. I like the simplicity of the card. I mean just the simple black and white. I look forward to seeing more.

Chris

marielise

Thanks Chris

temperlyne

I admire your skill and look forward to seeing more cards.
Your pope reminds me of my initial feelings of distrust towards this card, he looks so stern and strict. May I ask why he is sitting behind a curtain? To me it feels like he is deliberately hiding away from his followers that way, studying on his own rather than sharing his insights. Just curious!

Elander

hi marielise
you work is very interesting.My inital feelings are is your pope in the cofession
box,good work.

geraldine

marielise

HI thanks very much for the feedback.
The deck reflects my personnal opinions..and shouldn't be taken too much to heart, some of the cards are a bit controversial
My 'POPE' card draws inspiration from Picini's view of the Pope as a corrupt pope, its the card for politicians, bankers & CEO's. In my opinion, politicians, religion & CEOs play a large part in feeding a lot of the greed, & anxieties of the modern life today...