So many versions of Marseilles

zephyr_heart

Being quite new to tarot, I am amazed at how many versions of Marseilles out there, "the genuine, original and historical", "the photo-reproduction", "the recolored ones" and "the Marseilles inspired ones".

Well, my questions about these versions are:
  • Whether this thing has to do with the long history of tarot or not?
  • Why there's so very many versions?
  • Does that mean the "deviations" (the recolored and inspired ones) are what is considered as "impure" ones?
  • If so, which one to use best?

For moderators: I don't know whether to post this in Marseilles or in Historical. So sorry if I post it in the wrong space.

Maskelyne

I'm new to Tarot too, so my knowledge is rather shallow, but here's my 2 cents. There's a lot of variation in the traditional decks because they were produced locally and in small batches - no mass production. Cards were printed like this for maybe a couple of centuries, so there was lots of room for variation. When commercial color printing came along in the 19th century, the Marseille patterns were often adapted to the new medium. At this point, also, more elaborate detailing started to creep in.

Besides the photographic reproductions of old decks, the restorations of Jean-Claude Flornoy are probably the most faithful recreations of the old cards. Some people prefer the blurry, ambiguous lines and colorings of the facsimile decks to Flornoy's crisp reproductions. The Camoin-Jodorowsky deck claims to restore, through conjecture in some cases, the "original" Tarot de Marseille, a claim subject to some skepticism.

Historical purity counts for historians. For reading purposes, use what pleases you. I like the Camoin-Jodorowsky deck, eggs and all.

Flornoy's web site has a bit of interesting historical information:
http://www.tarot-history.com/

David

Luminosa

Hello,