stumped over the 4 of cups?

third eye

hi ive been learning the meanings of the tarot cards for 11 months or so, I have learnt the basic meanings of most cards but i still cant for the life of me get my head around the 4 of cups card meanings. Does it mean just being fed up with your situation, or you are bored with your life. replies would be appreciated as i really cant get to grips with this card.

rwcarter

Hi third eye,

Welcome to AT!

The 4 Cups can mean many things depending on the situation, the question asked and the other cards in the reading. Both examples you gave can apply to the 4C in the right situation. It could also be pointing to not seeing an opportunity because of one's sense of ennui. It could point to the beginning of depression or it might point to a need for the Querent to "lighten up."

HTH,
Rodney

starrystarrynight

My take is usually that the honeymoon (of the Three of Cups) is over when this card comes up. Now is the time to pause, take stock of the relationship or situation, and decide to expend the effort to build deeper roots...or to move on.

Fours often signify a pause in the action for me (implying that there is more to come, and one can't stay in this state forever.) So, with Cups, it may be time to stop and meditate over an emotional issue. It could be that you are bored and apathetic...wondering if this is all there is to the relationship or situation.

It's like the Seven-year itch in that way, I think...or even a mid-life crisis, maybe.

There are other interpretations for this card, though (I always loved Fudugazi's "homesickness for the heart's soul"--which I am paraphrasing from memory because I don't have it in front of me at the moment--from the LWB of the Fantastic Menagerie Tarot)...but what I said above is often the first thing that comes to mind when this card comes up for me.

Sulis