What would be a good book for a beginner?

Trowa Strife

Ive been into Tarot for a few weeks, and im getting a good grip on most of what im learning, but mostly everything im studying is over the net, and some of it contradicts itself. i was wondering what you guys would recommend for a good book to learn from..

bleuivy

Hi Trowa Strife,

Good question! What deck are you using? If your deck has a book written specific to that, I reccomend you get that. It will have information that applies specifically to your deck, as well as an explanation of the symbolism found in your deck. The better books also discuss the differences between your deck and other standard tarot decks. ("Most tarot decks do X, but we've decided to do Y instead for this reason...") Very helpful.

The other book I reccomend to all people starting out in tarot is: The Complete Tarot Reader by Teresa Michelsen. It doesn't contain card meanings, but instead discusses how to build your own relationship with the cards. I wish I had this book when I was starting tarot cards. Too bad it wasn't published yet! :laugh:

Hope this helps!

Trowa Strife

I have the Tarot of the Ages deck, and i love itrs symbolism deminstrated through the booklet it came with. I dont think it has a specific book with it though. Ill check that book out, thanx ^^

bleuivy

You're welcome. :)

lunakasha

Trowa Strife said:
I have the Tarot of the Ages deck, and i love itrs symbolism deminstrated through the booklet it came with. I dont think it has a specific book with it though. Ill check that book out, thanx ^^

I don't believe that there is a full-size companion book for the Tarot of the Ages (and the LWB that comes with it is a little....odd I would say). Some of the meanings given in the book are, IMO, just strange and probably not helpful to someone just beginning to study the tarot.

Some excellent books to get you started would be:

Mary Greer: Tarot for Yourself
Joan Bunning: Learning the Tarot