Is buying tarot decks like buying cars?

lacewing

I think I am experiencing sticker shock/buyer's remorse and fear of blue book value. While my greedy eyes see so many decks I would like, I am feeling overwhelmed by learning the new decks that I have (sticker shock/remorse). And worse, I have been looking at my new last week Ukiyoe and Norse Tarot that are both in shrink. It's like driving a new car off the lot. Once I open that OOP deck the value drops. I think I feel better when I buy used decks!
Having said that, I think I will go to my local metaphysical shop this afternoon and take a few test drives with some new decks.

jackdaw*

If you're only buying them to let them appreciate in value, then sure. In which case you're probably not that interested in them personally as Tarot decks and it won't harm you to leave them untouched.

Otherwise, rip off that cellophane and ENJOY the decks!!

lacewing

Oh, I would enjoy them! :) I am new to tarot and have acquired ten decks in my first month, so do feel overwhelmed. The real problem, of course, is that I told my husband they were a good investment. Fortunately, he has a short memory and a kind heart! I am an artist, so love the art and some of them will be to look at!

Sophie

lacewing - if you are an artist, do yourself a favour and open the Ukiyoe!!!

It's so beautiful, I can't tell you. I look at it and read Japanese love poems at the same time (that was Cerulean's suggestion, the Japanese poems - she has great ideas on how to use decks), and my world becomes that little bit more exquisite.

Ten is probably enough to start with though :eek:

(and no, they are not like cars. And besides, once they get sufficiently OOP, then even used decks sell).

Abrac

Hi lacewing

I think you are experiencing something many tarot fans have experienced. I know I sure have.