Artistic Skill, Aesthetics in the Thoth and other "GD-inspired" Decks.

Kingdubrock

I am not ashamed to admit that while it could possibly be due to my ignorance, I have always been repulsed by the Thoth deck. Not because of the meaning, symbolism or syntax, and not because of Crowley's reputation or the sometimes perceived "difficult" or "disturbing" teachings of Crowley.

What always bugged me is that the images have always looked to me like they were painted by an imaginative, yet untrained, adolescent artist. Like the kids I knew in my alternative high school. I just cant look at the images for more than a few seconds, let alone spend the time required for serious tarot study using this deck. Never could. As a trained artist myself its akin to a trained musician having to work in a music store and listen to untrained electric guitarists and drummers trying out the instruments in the store. Not that there is no merit or value in naive playing, like in punk rock or something.

But I have always wondered, if some of the best and brightest thinkers, writers and so on were GD members, where were/are the brilliant, or at least trained artists?

Other related decks I cant look at are Lon Milo's, the Dion Fortune deck, the GD deck by Wang, the Magical Golden Dawn deck. Any of them really. Even the RWS is borderline for me (although PCS's art has its charm for the most part).

Has there been much discussion about this, or the role or importance of "crafts-person-ship" in GD and Thelemic circles? In nearly all of the great spiritual traditions the relevant art was still in the domain of professionals, guilds, apprenticeship and so on, as a necessary component for art befitting the sacred.

Just wondering..

ravenest

Maybe its just 'taste' and not really a professional artists aversion , as I know some artists that swoon over Frieda's style.