Beginner Advice please

Asta

Hi Everyone
I am very new to tarot & so I have some questions. I hope I am posting in the right forum.
I want to use tarot for self knowledge & personal growth & to read for myself.
My tarot deck is a used deck The mythic tarot deck, anyone else use this deck & how do you find it to work with.

I am reading books & trying other web sites to learn the card meanings, One of the sites I use (Lotus Tarot) does a six card universal spread how accurate do you think these on line generated spreads are as I seem to get very good consistent readings.

As a beginner I can only do readings for myself but I read that you should not do more than one reading a week or month for your self. ??

So how can I learn the cards if I have no one to read for, & what advice could you give to a beginner sorry to bore you all thank you for looking.

Asta.

StarUpInTheSky

Hey, glad to see a new face. I posted the same question about how often not to long ago. What I'v learned overall is read whenever you want to. There is no wrong in tarot. Once a week, once a month, thats what other people think or do. Do what feels right to you.

----->My post- http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=63021

"I am reading books & trying other web sites to learn the card meanings"
While its good to get information from other places. its also a good idea to take some time to think about what each card means. Its better to use your ideas to guide your readings then memorized definitions.
Best of luck with your deck and readings
~*Mel*~

lolita

Hello Asta and welcome to AT!!!!

If you do a little search you will find a lot of threads to answer you.

Hack, i was same as you (and still am). Had same questions. Learned tarot from internet and books, it took me ages. Then i started to pick up cards.

And as my interests are same as yours (self knowledge, personal growth...), i just couldn't learn from reading for others, wouldn't you agree? I didn't know what to do...