How Long Did it Take you to Memorize The Cards?

Rainforest Elf

So, I'm very very new to Tarot and I've been gradually trying to learn the cards and their various meanings.

I know people study Tarot their entire lives, but I'm wondering... how long did it take you to feel totally comfortable with your cards? I mean, when did you feel comfortable enough to stop referencing a book for the general meaning behind a card? And what tools did you use for memorization?

Silaria

Honestly, I didn't really start to learn the cards until I stopped trying to memorize the meanings and worrying about being "right".

The keys for me understanding the cards was Thirteen's Tarot Meanings - specifically key words - and Comparisons of similar style decks side by side to look at similarities. Also learning to trust my intuition rather than a book meaning (key words help unlock this) really helped me take a leap forward.

One thing I strongly recommend to people who ask me about where to begin is to study a card a day and keep a journal. Pick a card, note in the journal what symbols and/or colors catch your eye first and what reaction you instinctively have to them. Then look at the entire card and make notes about what you observer. DO NOT stare at the card, just look at it for a minute or two. Meditate on the card at some point during the day. Keep your eyes open to events during the day that may relate to the card. Will your instincts always match the Little White Book or larger book that accompanies a deck - no, not always. But part of the journey is learning to trust yourself and your instincts.

Promise

I never memorized the cards.

There are hundreds of tarot decks out there, therefore hundreds of images for the "same" card. In my mind, it's a great disservice to the decks themselves as well as their creators to just use the same old blanket meanings for every deck you read with.