Joking while Taroting

sleepingcat

Bah- I got yelled at. I was reading for someone (aquantiance, I suppose) and I was doing as I usually do and randomly read one of the cards absurdly litterally to break up the tension.

Usually when people start getting that : \ look, or stare at the cards like they're going to bite them, spell out their doom, or float over their heads like a stigma, I say somthing redicious as my little way of reminding people- they're just cards and I'm no prophet, I'm sair, human and mundane.

They didnt find it paticularly amusing. Disrespecting the art, they said. They had me get on with it, but seemed peevish for a good while afterward.

I keep telling myself not to change my style- this is who I am and this is the way I am. I make it a point not to take anything seriously because *nothing* is that serious, there's always even the tiniest bit of clearance left for some laughter to wiggle in. It's important, laughter reminds us there's room to be human and live- that little gap is there so we arent crushed.

But gah- I feel badly. Maybe I was being insenstive- I can understand how this would be most serious to someone and I can see how joking can discredit an entire reading. But this is why I'm not a professional reader, I'm a friend who does free readings for people I know. If they've been around me more than a time or two they should know this is just my way.

And for refrence, the kinds of jokes I make are non-personal. Somthing along the lines of "The hanged man- All this is only going to make sense if you stand on your head" "What? o.0;" "....Seriously, you need to change your perspective and start giving up the mental dispositions you've assigned things.... etc"

thorhammer

I do that, too, even though I haven't read for all that many people face to face; the only thing that I would say is that you'd have to pick your
a) moments
b) CARDS
c) people