Little Essay Towards Truth -Love

Always Wondering

I have been turning over the Little Essay on Love for a few months now and there are a couple things I either don’t understand or can’t come to terms with.

Now it cannot be too clearly understood, or too acutely realised by means of action, that the intensity of the Joy liberated varies with the original degree of opposition between the two elements of the union. Heat, light, electricity are phenomena expressive of the fullness of passion, and their value is greatest when the diversity of the Energies composing the marriage is most strenuous. One obtains more from the explosion of Hydrogen and Oxygen than from the dull combination of substances indifferent to each other. Thus, the union of Nitrogen and Chlorine is so little satisfying to either molecule, that the resulting compound disintegrates with explosive violence at the slightest shock. We might say, then, in the language of Thelema, that such an act of love is not "love under will." It is, so to speak, a black magical operation.

Is Crowley saying that love without passion is not love? Or that only sexual relationships involve love? And how does a black magical operation come from such tepid passions as regard, affection or kindliness? I was thinking love under will might be applied to those times in sexual relationships when there is little passion or combustion due to stress or illness, etc. I love friends and siblings with regard and affection, it's peaceful.