New to Tarot... Reading for Others

djdaz

Hi guys,

I am quite new to Tarot. Only been learning Tarot for around a year. I have often read for myself and been confident in the readings and they have been quite accurate. But now some of my friends are getting interested in it and want me to do readings for them and I am really nervous about it because of what they will think, their pre-conceived ideas and whether it is accurate for them. Is this normal and how do I over-come it?

Darren

Moonbow

Hi Darren, welcome to Aeclectic.

For experience of reading, there is nothing to compare with reading face to face. It does bring out the nerves even if you know the sitter, and in some cases knowing them is more difficult then reading for strangers. But if you feel ready to do this, and your friends are asking, then its a good way to get into personal readings. In fact many readers want just this opportunity.

You will soon get to realise that reading face to face is not just about reading the cards themselves but also involves allot of listening and interaction, while trying to stay focused on the reading. Then later you will read for people who say nothing, and then those who you can't stop. Its all part of reading Tarot.

Try to prepare yourself first, in whichever way calms you down. I like to do some Reiki first, I know some people say a prayer and some do nothing. Choose a spread which is simple to remember but will give you plenty to talk about, or one where you can add cards to it if you need to.

After that you just have to bite the bullet and go for it. It's very satisfying to get the first one over with, and the more you do, the more confident you will get.

Grizabella