Newbie Questions

Eruditus

Greetings!

It's a pleasure to meet you all. Thank you for welcoming me into your community. Since I found Tarot I've felt a splendid feeling of companionship and warmth and community and homecoming--all without interacting with anyone! (A sensation that most churches, with their pressing crowds of wellwishers, fail to give me.) Yes, this is my first attempt to reach out to my siblings in the New Age/Occult/Whatever-you-want-to-call-it world.

Hopefully my passion and enthusiasm (Greek "en" + "theos") will infect all of you. "Those idealistic acolytes are all the same," some sage old codger is saying right now, "they discover a Truth or two and think they're ready to upgrade to the Gilded Cauldron. Tsk-tsk."

I am learning a lot and enjoying my education. A few questions nag. Can anyone help me?

1. I'm scared. Yes, you heard me right. Studying Tarot scares the ever-loving crap out of me. It's a thrilling fear, but my question is this: When I use Tarot, am I possibly tapping into or attracting negative, wicked energy? I suppose this charming bit of paranoia comes from my Protestant background, where even consulting your horoscope in the Mayberry Ledger is a condemnable sin.