Newbie seeks advice from the experts on card meanings from different decks

jcwirish

I am struggling to understand the idea of subtle differences in a particular card from different decks. In other words, if I am looking at a five of pentacles from a Rider Waite deck, and a Five of pentacles from another deck with the same basic set up, then wouldn't the meaning be the same for both cards? I'm working with my Druidcraft deck now pretty exclusively, because I am focussing now on studying and learning the meanings. I bought the Tarot of the Sweet Twilight, but think I need to stick to learning the meanings of one deck before I try to interpret an 'unconventional' deck like the Sweet Twilight. I read through the LWB after I studied all the cards, but ended up wondering why the meanings were so different than the traditional meanings for the same cards in other decks.

If I study and feel that I have a working knowledge of the traditional meanings of the 78 cards, can I then move to a deck like the Sweet Twilight using my knowledge, but also allowing the unconventional images to enhance, add, or alter the meanings based on my interpretation and intuition? Or, should I look at a deck like the Sweet Twilight as completely separate from the traditional meanings, and view it from a purely intuitive perspective? Granted, I have to admit that the more I learn here on the forum, I realize that I need a stronger understanding of the cards before I will be comfortable relying solely on my intuition.

I hope that I have clarified my question adequately, because I really would like insights from the more experienced on this.

My basic question is this;
Is the King of Cups the King of Cups across the board, or is he a slightly different guy from deck to deck?

Sinduction

You are going to get so many different responses. :D For me, pretty much every card is different every day, even from the same deck. It depends on what it tells me.