Storing/cleansing in order

GypsyMeli

I am just starting out with "The Tarot Kit for Beginners" By Janet Berres. When storing the cards it says to put the cards back in order and to use sage to cleanse. I have searched the forums for this particular topic (putting the cards in order), but havn't come across the topic so I figured I'd make the thread.

I am wondering if it is absolutely necessary to put the deck back in order when not in use, or if storing them in a box with crystals/insense/etc, is enough.

Melanie

Rachey

To be honest Melanie I just store mine in the box they came in and after a read I just shuffle and place them back in the box. They still do their job :)

Eco74

Nothing is necessary, unless you yourself feel more confident with the cards if you follow certain rituals.

The reasoning behind putting the deck back in order is that it will clear the deck of any residual energy left from the readings you've done.
Same with the sage really, to clean the deck of negative energies and take away any "spiritual residue" left by previous readings.

I settle with shuffling the deck a bit after finishing, and also tend to close my eyes and imagine the deck releasing the question I asked, just as I've released it in my mind. But that's it..

Storing them in a box with whatever incense or crystal is fine, if that's something you feel would give the deck a good restingplace between uses, and that you feel would make it more special for you as you get to know the deck and learn about Tarot.

Infact, the more books you read, and the more different people you talk to, the more customs you can take on for how to treat, keep and use your deck.
Always strive to make your own mind up for how you want to treat your deck. Noone else is ever equipped to tell you what would be best for you.

The only thing I will recommend, is to keep the deck safe from spills and unnecessary wear and tare since that will keep the cards in good condition for longer.

PlatinumDove