The benefits of writing down your own thoughts about each of the cards

strings of life

I am new to Tarot and have decided to write down my thoughts (using a blog) about each of the cards after I study them. For now, I am writing down my interpretation of the story in each card and am doing my best to include symbolism and colors when relevant.

My goal is to do this for all of 78 cards. I truly see the value in it and think it will help me bond with the cards.

Of course this is going to take me a long time--well not long since I am in no rush, but most likely 2 months, maybe less.

Have any of you done this as well? Do you have any recommendations? My plan is to go into as much detail as possible with the Major Arcana cards (including general thoughts, questions I have, etc.), and to do the same for the Minor Arcana (sans questions).

When it comes to symbolism and colors, I know that this can be different based on he deck you are starting with. I am using the Universal Waite. Right now, it's helpful for me to include colors in my discovery. Part of me thinks it is better to focus entirely on the story--almost to the point of getting lost in it--before I focus on the small details. But, doing the combination of the two really forces me to focus.

I am reading The New Complete Book of Tarot (Paperback) by Juliet Sharman-Burke, as my first guide / lesson and she breaks down each section using a similar format so that the reader gets to know the cards before they actually draw cards for readings.

Any feedback is welcome. I was gong to post the first two entries that I wrote on The Fool and The Magician, but they are quite long. That and I need to find the best place to put them since there is no need to start a new thread about a topic that I know is already on the board.

Much thanks. There is so much information here - what a great community.

rwcarter

Hello again.