Trusting the cards in a self-reading

Niti

This has been bothering me a lot lately...

When I first started to use tarot cards, I wanted to use them as a tool for self-exploration, growth, and general questions about my life. I didn't worry about it too much at first, because I was a beginner. I was still fetching books to figure out what readings meant.

After I found AT, I began to do readings for others and it was a different game. Because I didn't know the people I was reading for, I had to rely much more on intuition...I had to look at the details in the cards so much more, think about things that stood out for me in particular cards. In the style I developed, it wasn't about traditional meanings. It was about piecing together bits of each card to illustrate a situation and give advice.

Cue me being frustrated with self-readings. As my intuitive style took form and my knowledge of the cards grew, my own readings began to bother me more. I couldn't be "intuitive" with my own cards! When I found connections between the cards I drew and my life, I couldn't trust it - "yeah, but I'm only relating this because I know that's how it is!", I'd tell myself. Or, "Well, I think this is what it means but I don't know, I'm probably only saying that because I already thought that before/that's what I want it to be/that's what I'm afraid of it being."

When it comes to "the future" in self-readings, I often draw a complete blank. My intuition doesn't work. I fall back on "textbook definitions" or write down the cards I pulled and a huge question mark, promising myself to come back to it later.

Other times, I'll sit down to do a reading, pull out some cards, and not feel the urge to analyze them at all. I'll write them down and put something vague like "good day" for the meaning.

I'm not sure what the problem is here. Am I not trusting my cards, or am I just unable to read cards for myself? Does anyone else have this problem?

How can I learn to trust my own cards?!