What to do when "advice from above" doesn't make sense???

Pauline Kilar

Hi!

I'm new at Tarot (just got into it about 3 months ago). I do a daily 3-card draw using a spread someone gave in a forum: 1=Theme of the Day 2=Underlying Influences 3=Advice from Above.

Well, every once in a while I get an "Advice from Above" card that just doesn't make sense. Like today, I drew the 3 of Swords. I don't know what to make of this.

Usually the Advice from Above card makes sense. Like if you get Strength, or the 8 of Pentacles, or the Queen of Pentacles (all ones I've gotten recently), it makes sense. You need to emulate these qualities or take these actions.

But if it's a "negative" card, or a card that indicates outside forces acting on you (e.g., The Tower), how are you supposed to interpret it? To me the 3 of Swords represents Sorrow. I stared at it, trying to get some intuitive meaning from it, but I got nothin'.

(The "Theme" card was 5 Wands and the "Underlying Influences" card was The Empress, in case anyone's interested in the context.)

Thanks for any help or guidance on this!

K

Umbrae

Uh…take this with a grain of salt…it’s my opinion (this is not a fact), it’s how I feel.

Most daily draws are a waste of time. Especially if done at the start of the day.

It does nothing for your day, serves no purpose, and does not provide a ‘heads up’. It serves to ‘set your mood’. It helps give you a bad outlook on what might be a wonderful day.

Listen:

Do a draw at the END of the day. Then you can meditate and find that brief 3 of Swords moment and weight it for what it is, not what you were ‘expecting’. It will help build a relationship between you and your meanings.

And why three cards? You’ve been doing this for three months and you’re already using three cards to ‘set the mood of your day’? Poor advice. It is designed to fit you into someone else’s shoes – rather than crafting your own pair.