Playing Cards: The Original Divinatory Tool of the Ancients?

Satori

Was wondering what folks think about this idea set forth in the book "The Playing Card Oracles, A Source Book for Divination" by Ana Cortez and C. J. Freeman:

C.J. Freeman said:
For some reason, Tarot cards, which were originally created for card games, have evolved into a fortune-telling deck. On the other hand, playing cards, with their built-in calendar designed for divination, are used to play a variety of popular games, none of which involve divination. Ahh, the irony of it all!

I'm just beginning my studies into playing cards, and my interest has been fired and captured by the illustrated deck in the Playing Card Oracles. The accompanying book is fascinating. I wonder what some of our scholars over here think of the system this father-daughter team put forth, and if you have read the book or used the cards.

The information on geomancy is very new to me, and I've just used it to great affect in a reading this morning. Seems I'm not alone in my interest in playing cards as suddenly there are a few new topics here to peruse. Indeed I shall read the article kwaw posted by Singer, and welcome any and all ideas here about playing cards in general.

Many thanks!

Satori

Huck

Just commenting:
"On the other hand, playing cards, with their built-in calendar designed for divination, are used to play a variety of popular games, none of which involve divination. Ahh, the irony of it all!"

It's not true, that the usual playing cards are not used for divination. Perhaps the English-language countries have a stronger preference for Tarot. Just in Germany is running a late TV-show with card-readers. Mostly they don't use Tarot-cards, but others. Lenormand, Kipper and also normal playing cards.

We've a collection of other Fortune telling decks in the Museum, some of them show a connection between fortune telling motifs and normal playing cards, just proving, that playing cards could be used also.