Paper cutter or Scissors for Trimming cards?

claire1805

I am contemplating on whether to trim off the borders of the Druidcraft as it is rather difficult to handle it. But I am afraid of messing it up (it was a Christmas gift from a very kind member here) and spoiling this precious deck.

I would like to know whether a paper cutter or scissors will be better for trimming cards in general. Any handy tips? Just in case I work the nerves to do it, but I don't think it will be anytime soon.

gregory

Many will disagree here, BUT...

I have tried both. I am no expert, but the potential for disaster with a paper cutter is 1000000% times worse. With scissors - you spot the oopsie while it's tiny and you might get a small imperfection. An off base slash with a cutter and your card is - kind of gone. I have done two decks now (the disaster, mercifully, was with a self printed one) and I have one perfect one and one with one card having a small nick.

In a few minutes you will see a load of people saying the opposite.

They do need to be GOOD scissors, though. And longish blades. Try it all out on a few old postcards and see how you do.

claire1805

I have tried both. I am no expert, but the potential for disaster with a paper cutter is 1000000% times worse. With scissors - you spot the oopsie while it's tiny and you might get a small imperfection. An off base slash with a cutter and your card is - kind of gone. I have done two decks now (the disaster, mercifully, was with a self printed one) and I have one perfect one and one with one card having a small nick.

They do need to be GOOD scissors, though. And longish blades. Try it all out on a few old postcards and see how you do.

Thank you for your advice, gregory! I really appreciate it. I have never used a paper cutter before so the potential for disaster can be a serious source of concern. You just validated my fear of going with the paper cutter, the scissors is a safer choice.