Teaching the Cards to a Preteen

mosaica

My 11yo daughter would like to learn the cards in order to create her own deck. Any suggestions for helping her (and me) to feel less overwhelmed by the prospect of learning card meanings? I'm still a relative beginner to the cards myself and would like to find a way to simplify things a little bit for her. Her favorite deck is the Hanson-Roberts, which is of course a good start.

Thanks!
Mosaica

Umbrae

this will sound silly at first...but...

Don't teach her the cards.

Have her teach you the cards.

mosaica

Umbrae,

That does make some sense. After all, I've told her that reading books can sometimes cause more confusion that be helpful, and the one of best things to do is look at the cards and think about what they are saying to you. Even better, sometimes, is to try to explain it.

mosaica

le fey

The great thing about preteens is that they lack the weight of years' worth of preconceptions. The other great things about preteens is that they learn by playing.

let your preteen play with the cards - lay them out and make up stories with them, act them out, play 'where's waldo' to find the elemental clues hiding in the pictures, read for you, figure out the ways the cards speak to favorite story, TV, movie characters... whatever grabs her interest and sense of fun. When an event or situation or person pops up during the course of the day, playfully ask, 'quick! which card is this?' and let her ramble about the answer, showing how her train of thought on the subject leads to that card.

Share how it's a serious tool, but approach it playfully and with joy. This isn't studying math for a test - it's catching fireflies and making a wish before letting them go.

mosaica

Of course, my fear is that the cards will be too daunting for her and she'll give up -- no matter how I approach them. I really need to let go and let her work with the cards in her own way. They'll always be there for her should she decide she wants them.