to reverse or not to reverse

mahjong

As I am just starting to learn the tarot .I've come to realise that some people never use reversed cards in readings ie always making sure that the cards are upright before shuffleing.What's the reason for this?

balenciaga

Personal preference. Some find it easier (just think, it is fewer cards to memorize meanings for!)The energy from reversals is thought to be weak or blocked. Most people like forceful energy, strong messages coming through; they feel more confident with upright cards. Others prefer the nuance of the reversals; they want to know where the energy needs work.
These are only some of the reasons. Do what makes you feel comfortable, and as you progress, you will explore further.

Sulis

Hi Mahjong,

The reason for this is that every card has a complete range of meanings from positive to negative so there really is no need to turn some of them upside down.

With experience a reader learns which one of it's many meanings a card is presenting in the context of that reading.
The meaning of a card depends on the question, the context, the position in the spread, the surrounding cards and of course, the readers intuition.

If you take a look at the index at the top of the Using Tarot Cards forum you will find many interesting threads on reversals, reading with them and whether to bother with them or not:http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=77111
There is also a section called 'Thirteen's Reversals' - here you will find suggested ways to read reversed cards and possible meanings for all the cards when they are reversed: http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=58516

If you seach in 'titles only' for 'Reversals' you will find even more threads to read :)

Sulis

balenciaga said:
Some find it easier (just think, it is fewer cards to memorize meanings for!)

That's if you're going to go down the route of memorising card meanings - not something that most readers advise.