Do the Cards Lie ?

Hidden

I am wondering, i am new to this whole tarot thing, i just got a professional reading from a physic who has a good reputation, and the things she said where amazing and the art of the cards, i think she was using the Rider-Waite-Smith absolutely amazed me.

So to get to the core, do the cards lie?

Thank you.

Water Lady

I think your perception of the reading answered your own question.

Tarot is a quide to living your live better. Some readers are new, like you and sometimes we don't interpret the cards well. Others are very experienced and read the cards very well.

Sounds like you got a experienced reader.

FaireMaiden

I would have to say that, no, the cards don't lie...

Interpretation, however, is another matter... But, even if the interpretation is incorrect, (we all have days where reading the cards is muddled at best and strained at worst), I wouldn't call that 'lying'...

'Lying', to me, is a rather conscious choice to mislead... and quite often, tho not always, for malicious purposes...

So, again, (unless one is in the presence of a reader who is saying something akin to, 'I see a curse has been placed on you and, for a fee, I will take the curse off you'), a reader may be mistaken in their interpretation of the cards, but not 'lying'... A mistake, or misunderstanding, is not the same as deceit...

Hope this helps you, *s*

willowfox

Hidden said:
the things she said where amazing

You seem to have answered your own question.

Skysteel

Hidden said:
So to get to the core, do the cards lie?

Sure, if you mean 'can the cards present information not congruent with objective reality'.

Disa

I guess if a person doesn't want to see what the cards are saying, they could be construed as lying to themselves, in which case, they may feel the cards are lying to them? (Did that make any sense, not sure if I'm putting it across right)